facebook tracking Rehabilitation Hospitals in Michigan: 2 Hospitals and 42 rehabilitation units Compared

Rehabilitation hospitals in Michigan

2 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 42 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Compare their Medicare results with the national rate.

Michigan has 2 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 42 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Mymichigan Medical Center Alma has the highest returned home rate reported in Michigan: 77%, against 67% nationally. On the measure "Returned home", Medicare rates 3 better than the national rate and 2 worse.

Switch state
Hospitals2plus 42 rehab units
Returned home68%Michigan median; U.S. 67%
Preventable readmissions9.3%Michigan median; U.S. 9.4%
Rated better by CMS3on returned home; 2 worse
77%

returned home at Mymichigan Medical Center Alma, the highest reported in Michigan.

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Every rehabilitation hospital in Michigan

Bars show each facility's rate; the black tick is the U.S. rate. "Better" and "worse" appear only where CMS itself compared the facility with the national rate. Click a column to sort.

44 shown
Hospital City Returned home
higher is better
Preventable readmissions
lower is better
Mymichigan Medical Center Almarehab unit Alma 77%
Better
8.9%
Alpena Regional Medical Centerrehab unit Alpena 69% 8.1%
Trinity Health Ann Arbor Hospitalrehab unit Ann Arbor 65% 8.9%
Bay Regional Medical Centerrehab unit Bay City 64% 10.0%
Corewell Health Big Rapids Hospitalrehab unit Big Rapids Not reported Not reported
Corewell Health Big Rapids Hospitalrehab unit Big Rapids Not reported Not reported
Chelsea Community Hospitalrehab unit Chelsea 67% 9.0%
Henry Ford Macomb Hospitalrehab unit Clinton Twp 68% 8.1%
Rehabilitation Inst of Mich Detroit 50%
Worse
10%
Sinai-Grace Hospitalrehab unit Detroit 64% 9.3%
St John Hospital and Medical Centerrehab unit Detroit 66% 10%
Beaumont Hospital - Farmington Hillsrehab unit Farmington Hls 68% 10%
Hurley Medical Centerrehab unit Flint 68% 9.7%
McLaren Regional Medical Centerrehab unit Flint 64% 9.4%
Garden City Hospitalrehab unit Garden City 58%
Worse
11%
Genesys Regional Medical Center - Health Parkrehab unit Grand Blanc 72% 9.3%
Mary Free Bed Hosp & Rehab Ctr Grand Rapids 68% 8.3%
Spectrum Health - Butterworth Campusrehab unit Grand Rapids 73% 9.2%
Borgess Medical Centerrehab unit Kalamazoo 72% 9.4%
Edward W Sparrow Hospitalrehab unit Lansing 69% 8.5%
St Mary Mercy Hospitalrehab unit Livonia 75%
Better
8.4%
Marquette General Hospitalrehab unit Marquette 69% 9.1%
McLaren Macombrehab unit Mt Clemens 69% 8.2%
Trinity Health Muskegon Hospitalrehab unit Muskegon 73%
Better
9.2%
Northern Michigan Regional Hospitalrehab unit Petoskey 67% 9.6%
McLaren Oaklandrehab unit Pontiac 69% 10%
St Joseph Mercy Oaklandrehab unit Pontiac 63% 11%
St Joseph Mercy Port Huronrehab unit Port Huron 63% 9.9%
Ascension Providence Rochester Hospitalrehab unit Rochester 65% 9.3%
William Beaumont Hospitalrehab unit Royal Oak 69% 9.3%
Covenant Medical Center, INCrehab unit Saginaw 65% 9.4%
Healthsource Saginawrehab unit Saginaw 67% 9.6%
Mymichigan Medical Center Saginawrehab unit Saginaw Not reported Not reported
Providence Hospital and Medical Centersrehab unit Southfield 69% 9.3%
Lakeland Hospital, St Josephrehab unit St Joseph Not reported Not reported
Beaumont Hospital - Taylorrehab unit Taylor 64% 9.9%
Three Rivers Area Hospitalrehab unit Three Rivers 66% 9.2%
Three Rivers Healthrehab unit Three Rivers 66% 9.2%
Munson Medical Centerrehab unit Traverse City 71% 7.6%
William Beaumont Hospital-Troyrehab unit Troy 70% 9.0%
Henry Ford Health Warren Hospitalrehab unit Warren 68% 9.7%
Corewell Health Watervliet Hospitalrehab unit Watervliet 68% 8.1%
Henry Ford Wyandotte Hospitalrehab unit Wyandotte 66% 9.2%
Trinity Health Ann Arbor Hospitalrehab unit Ypsilanti 65% 8.9%

No hospital matches that filter.

U.S. rates: returned home 67%; preventable readmissions 9.4%.

Questions about inpatient rehabilitation hospitals in Michigan

How many inpatient rehabilitation hospitals are there in Michigan?

Michigan has 2 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 42 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit that reports to Medicare.

What is a rehabilitation hospital?

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Which rehabilitation hospital in Michigan has the highest returned home rate?

Mymichigan Medical Center Alma has the highest returned home rate reported in Michigan: 77%, against 67% nationally. Rates from small facilities can swing a lot from year to year, and Medicare publishes several measures for each facility, so compare the ones that matter most to you on each hospital's page.

Which Michigan facilities does Medicare rate better or worse than average?

On returned home, CMS rates 3 Michigan facilities better than the national rate and 2 worse; the rest are no different or have too few patients to compare.

Facility list and results from the CMS Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility Quality Reporting Program, with hospital type from the CMS Provider of Services file. Data published July 2026. About the data.