0 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 24 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Compare their Medicare results with the national rate.
returned home at Emory Eastside Medical Center, the highest reported in Georgia.
Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.
Bars show each facility's rate; the black tick is the U.S. rate. "Better" and "worse" appear only where CMS itself compared the facility with the national rate. Click a column to sort.
| Hospital | Returned home higher is better | Preventable readmissions lower is better |
|---|---|---|
| Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospitalrehab unit | 69% | 9.3% |
| St Mary's Hospitalrehab unit |
73%
Better |
8.9% |
| Emory University Hospitalrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grady Memorial Hospitalrehab unit | 71% | 9.2% |
| Grady Memorial Hospitalrehab unit | 71% | 9.2% |
| Doctors Hospitalrehab unit | 70% | 8.9% |
| Wellstar Cobb Hospitalrehab unit |
74%
Better |
9.0% |
| Emory Decatur Hospitalrehab unit |
61%
Worse |
9.4% |
| Fairview Park Hospitalrehab unit |
73%
Better |
8.8% |
| Northside Hospital Duluthrehab unit |
62%
Worse |
9.2% |
| Gwinnett Medical Centerrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Coliseum Medical Centerrehab unit | 69% | 10% |
| Wellstar Kennestone Hospitalrehab unit |
75%
Better |
9.1% |
| Southern Regional Medical Centerrehab unit | 68% | 9.7% |
| Floyd Medical Centerrehab unit | 66% | 9.1% |
| Redmond Regional Medical Centerrehab unit | 66% | 11% |
| North Fulton Regional Hospitalrehab unit |
75%
Better |
8.6% |
| Candler Hospitalrehab unit | 69% | 8.5% |
| Emory Eastside Medical Centerrehab unit |
81%
Better |
8.9% |
| John D Archbold Memorial Hospitalrehab unit | 68% | 8.4% |
| Stephens County Hospitalrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stephens County Hospitalrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Sgmc Healthrehab unit | 70% | 10% |
| Satilla Regional Medical Centerrehab unit | 66% | 9.5% |
No hospital matches that filter.
U.S. rates: returned home 67%; preventable readmissions 9.4%.
Georgia has 0 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 24 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit that reports to Medicare.
Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.
Emory Eastside Medical Center has the highest returned home rate reported in Georgia: 81%, against 67% nationally. Rates from small facilities can swing a lot from year to year, and Medicare publishes several measures for each facility, so compare the ones that matter most to you on each hospital's page.
On returned home, CMS rates 6 Georgia facilities better than the national rate and 2 worse; the rest are no different or have too few patients to compare.
Facility list and results from the CMS Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility Quality Reporting Program, with hospital type from the CMS Provider of Services file. Data published July 2026. About the data.