facebook tracking Rehabilitation Hospitals in Alabama: 3 Hospitals and 11 rehabilitation units Compared

Rehabilitation hospitals in Alabama

3 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 11 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Compare their Medicare results with the national rate.

Alabama has 3 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 11 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Thomas Hospital has the highest returned home rate reported in Alabama: 79%, against 67% nationally. On the measure "Returned home", Medicare rates 3 better than the national rate and 1 worse.

Switch state
Hospitals3plus 11 rehab units
Returned home70%Alabama median; U.S. 67%
Preventable readmissions9.7%Alabama median; U.S. 9.4%
Rated better by CMS3on returned home; 1 worse
79%

returned home at Thomas Hospital, the highest reported in Alabama.

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Every rehabilitation hospital in Alabama

Bars show each facility's rate; the black tick is the U.S. rate. "Better" and "worse" appear only where CMS itself compared the facility with the national rate. Click a column to sort.

14 shown
Hospital City Returned home
higher is better
Preventable readmissions
lower is better
Medical West, an Affiliate of UAB Health Systemrehab unit Bessemer 73% 9.5%
Brookwood Medical Centerrehab unit Birmingham 69% 9.0%
Grandview Medical Centerrehab unit Birmingham 65% 11%
Healthsouth Lakeshore Hospital Birmingham 72%
Better
9.9%
St Vincent's Eastrehab unit Birmingham 70% 9.7%
University of Alabama Hospitalrehab unit Birmingham 67% 9.5%
Thomas Hospitalrehab unit Fairhope 79%
Better
9.3%
Healthsouth Rehab Hospital Huntsville 72%
Better
9.0%
Mobile Infirmaryrehab unit Mobile 70% 8.5%
Springhill Medical Centerrehab unit Mobile 70% 10%
Healthsouth Rehab Hospital Montgomery 66% 11%
Worse
Shoals Hospitalrehab unit Muscle Shoals 65% 11%
East Alabama Medical Center and Snfrehab unit Opelika Not reported Not reported
D C H Regional Medical Centerrehab unit Tuscaloosa 60%
Worse
11%

No hospital matches that filter.

U.S. rates: returned home 67%; preventable readmissions 9.4%.

Questions about inpatient rehabilitation hospitals in Alabama

How many inpatient rehabilitation hospitals are there in Alabama?

Alabama has 3 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 11 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit that reports to Medicare.

What is a rehabilitation hospital?

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Which rehabilitation hospital in Alabama has the highest returned home rate?

Thomas Hospital has the highest returned home rate reported in Alabama: 79%, against 67% nationally. Rates from small facilities can swing a lot from year to year, and Medicare publishes several measures for each facility, so compare the ones that matter most to you on each hospital's page.

Which Alabama facilities does Medicare rate better or worse than average?

On returned home, CMS rates 3 Alabama facilities better than the national rate and 1 worse; the rest are no different or have too few patients to compare.

Facility list and results from the CMS Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility Quality Reporting Program, with hospital type from the CMS Provider of Services file. Data published July 2026. About the data.