Critical Access hospitals › Alabama
Alabama has 9 Critical Access hospitals. 8 of them have an emergency department. Across those that report it, the median emergency department visit lasts 1 hr 59 min.
A Critical Access Hospital is a Medicare designation for a small rural hospital. To qualify, a hospital keeps no more than 25 inpatient beds, sits a set distance from the next nearest hospital, keeps an average inpatient stay of 96 hours or less, and provides emergency care 24 hours a day. The designation exists to keep emergency care within reach in places too small to support a full general hospital, and it changes how Medicare pays them.
| Hospital | City | ER wait | CMS rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ochsner Choctaw General | Butler | 1 hr 59 min | — |
| Washington County Hospital | Chatom | not reported | — |
| Medical Center Barbour | Eufaula | 2 hr 37 min | — |
| Wiregrass Medical Center | Geneva | 59 min | — |
| Lakeland Community Hospital | Haleyville | not reported | — |
| Crenshaw Community Hospital | Luverne | 1 hr 48 min | — |
| St Vincents Blount | Oneonta | 2 hr 12 min | — |
| Red Bay Hospital | Red Bay | 2 hr 11 min | — |
| Tanner Medical Center-East Alabama | Wedowee | 1 hr 36 min | — |
Designation from the CMS Hospital General Information dataset. Data published July 2026. See all hospitals in Alabama, or Critical Access hospitals in other states. How this data works.