0 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 18 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Compare their Medicare results with the national rate.
returned home at Good Samaritan Hospital & Rehab Center, the highest reported in Washington.
Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.
Bars show each facility's rate; the black tick is the U.S. rate. "Better" and "worse" appear only where CMS itself compared the facility with the national rate. Click a column to sort.
| Hospital | Returned home higher is better | Preventable readmissions lower is better |
|---|---|---|
| Auburn Regional Medical Centerrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Auburn Regional Medical Centerrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Overlake Hospital Medical Centerrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Peacehealth St Joseph Medical Centerrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Providence Centralia Hospitalrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Evergreenhealth Medical Centerrehab unit | 70% | 8.6% |
| Lourdes Medical Centerrehab unit | 69% | 9.0% |
| Good Samaritan Hospital & Rehab Centerrehab unit |
73%
Better |
8.8% |
| Harborview Medical Centerrehab unit |
60%
Worse |
8.7% |
| Harborview Medical Centerrehab unit |
60%
Worse |
8.7% |
| Swedish Medical Center/Cherry Hillrehab unit | 73% | 9.4% |
| Univ of Washington Medical Ctrrehab unit | 69% | 8.6% |
| University of Washington Medical Ctrrehab unit | 69% | 8.6% |
| United General Hospitalrehab unit | 70% | 8.2% |
| St Joseph Medical Centerrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| S W Washington Medical Centerrehab unit | 73% | 9.6% |
| Providence St Mary Medical Centerrehab unit | 71% | 8.7% |
| Confluence Health Hospitalrehab unit | 68% | 9.2% |
No hospital matches that filter.
U.S. rates: returned home 67%; preventable readmissions 9.4%.
Washington has 0 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 18 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit that reports to Medicare.
Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.
Good Samaritan Hospital & Rehab Center has the highest returned home rate reported in Washington: 73%, against 67% nationally. Rates from small facilities can swing a lot from year to year, and Medicare publishes several measures for each facility, so compare the ones that matter most to you on each hospital's page.
On returned home, CMS rates 1 Washington facility better than the national rate and 2 worse; the rest are no different or have too few patients to compare.
Facility list and results from the CMS Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility Quality Reporting Program, with hospital type from the CMS Provider of Services file. Data published July 2026. About the data.