facebook tracking Rehabilitation Hospitals in New Mexico: 3 Hospitals and 6 rehabilitation units Compared

Rehabilitation hospitals in New Mexico

3 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 6 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Compare their Medicare results with the national rate.

New Mexico has 3 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 6 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Healthsouth Rehab Center has the highest returned home rate reported in New Mexico: 71%, against 67% nationally. On the measure "Returned home", Medicare rates 2 better than the national rate and 0 worse.

Switch state
Hospitals3plus 6 rehab units
Returned home69%New Mexico median; U.S. 67%
Preventable readmissions9.2%New Mexico median; U.S. 9.4%
Rated better by CMS2on returned home; 0 worse
71%

returned home at Healthsouth Rehab Center, the highest reported in New Mexico.

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Every rehabilitation hospital in New Mexico

Bars show each facility's rate; the black tick is the U.S. rate. "Better" and "worse" appear only where CMS itself compared the facility with the national rate. Click a column to sort.

9 shown
Hospital City Returned home
higher is better
Preventable readmissions
lower is better
Healthsouth Rehab Center Albuquerque 71%
Better
9.0%
Lovelace Medical Centerrehab unit Albuquerque Not reported Not reported
St Joseph Rehab Hospital Albuquerque 71%
Better
7.8%
Better
Carlsbad Medical Centerrehab unit Carlsbad 68% 8.9%
San Juan Regional Medical Centerrehab unit Farmington 67% 9.8%
Covenant Health Hobbs Hospitalrehab unit Hobbs Not reported Not reported
Mountain View Regional Medical Centerrehab unit Las Cruces Not reported Not reported
New Mexico Rehabilitation Ctr Roswell 69% 9.3%
St Vincent Hospitalrehab unit Santa Fe 64% 9.2%

No hospital matches that filter.

U.S. rates: returned home 67%; preventable readmissions 9.4%.

Questions about inpatient rehabilitation hospitals in New Mexico

How many inpatient rehabilitation hospitals are there in New Mexico?

New Mexico has 3 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 6 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit that reports to Medicare.

What is a rehabilitation hospital?

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Which rehabilitation hospital in New Mexico has the highest returned home rate?

Healthsouth Rehab Center has the highest returned home rate reported in New Mexico: 71%, against 67% nationally. Rates from small facilities can swing a lot from year to year, and Medicare publishes several measures for each facility, so compare the ones that matter most to you on each hospital's page.

Which New Mexico facilities does Medicare rate better or worse than average?

On returned home, CMS rates 2 New Mexico facilities better than the national rate and 0 worse; the rest are no different or have too few patients to compare.

Facility list and results from the CMS Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility Quality Reporting Program, with hospital type from the CMS Provider of Services file. Data published July 2026. About the data.