0 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 12 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Compare their Medicare results with the national rate.
Minnesota has 12 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Mayo Clinic - Saint Marys Hospital has the highest returned home rate reported in Minnesota: 71%, against 67% nationally.
returned home at Mayo Clinic - Saint Marys Hospital, the highest reported in Minnesota.
Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.
Bars show each facility's rate; the black tick is the U.S. rate. "Better" and "worse" appear only where CMS itself compared the facility with the national rate. Click a column to sort.
| Hospital | Returned home higher is better | Preventable readmissions lower is better |
|---|---|---|
| Essentia Health Duluthrehab unit | 65% | 8.9% |
| St Lukes Hospitalrehab unit | 63% | 9.9% |
| Grand Itasca Clinic and Hospitalrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Itasca Medical Centerrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Abbott Northwestern Hospital INCrehab unit | 65% | 8.5% |
| Hennepin County Medical Centerrehab unit | 63% | 9.7% |
| University of Minnesota Medical Center, Fairviewrehab unit | 70% | 8.6% |
| North Memorial Medical Centerrehab unit | 69% | 9.1% |
| Mayo Clinic - Saint Marys Hospitalrehab unit | 71% |
7.7%
Better |
| St Cloud Hospitalrehab unit | 64% | 8.3% |
| Regions Hospitalrehab unit | 63% | 8.8% |
| United Hospitalrehab unit | 66% | 9.8% |
No hospital matches that filter.
U.S. rates: returned home 67%; preventable readmissions 9.4%.
Minnesota has 0 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 12 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit that reports to Medicare.
Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.
Mayo Clinic - Saint Marys Hospital has the highest returned home rate reported in Minnesota: 71%, against 67% nationally. Rates from small facilities can swing a lot from year to year, and Medicare publishes several measures for each facility, so compare the ones that matter most to you on each hospital's page.
Facility list and results from the CMS Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility Quality Reporting Program, with hospital type from the CMS Provider of Services file. Data published July 2026. About the data.