1 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 23 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Compare their Medicare results with the national rate.
North Carolina has one inpatient rehabilitation hospital, plus 23 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Presbyterian Hospital has the highest returned home rate reported in North Carolina: 76%, against 67% nationally. On the measure "Returned home", Medicare rates 5 better than the national rate and 1 worse.
returned home at Presbyterian Hospital, the highest reported in North Carolina.
Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.
Bars show each facility's rate; the black tick is the U.S. rate. "Better" and "worse" appear only where CMS itself compared the facility with the national rate. Click a column to sort.
| Hospital | Returned home higher is better | Preventable readmissions lower is better |
|---|---|---|
| Thoms Rehabilitation Hospital | 67% | 8.6% |
| UNC Hospitalsrehab unit | 69% | 8.9% |
| Atrium Health Pinevillerehab unit |
71%
Better |
8.2% |
| Carolinas Medical Center/Behav Healthrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Presbyterian Hospitalrehab unit |
76%
Better |
8.5% |
| Duke Regional Hospitalrehab unit | 69% | 8.7% |
| Hugh Chatham Memorial Hospitalrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cape Fear Valley Medical Centerrehab unit |
64%
Worse |
8.2% |
| Moses H Cone Memorial Hospital, therehab unit |
74%
Better |
8.8% |
| ECU Health Medical Centerrehab unit | 66% | 8.8% |
| Maria Parham Hospitalrehab unit | 71% | 8.4% |
| Catawba Valley Medical Centerrehab unit | 72% | 9.2% |
| Frye Regional Medical Centerrehab unit | 67% | 9.8% |
| High Point Regional Hospitalrehab unit | 68% | 8.9% |
| Lenoir Memorial Hospitalrehab unit | 72% | 9.4% |
| Scotland Memorial Hospitalrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| Carolina East Medical Centerrehab unit | 71% | 8.7% |
| Firsthealth Moore Regional Hospitalrehab unit |
73%
Better |
8.5% |
| Wakemed, Raleigh Campusrehab unit |
73%
Better |
7.7%
Better |
| Nash General Hospitalrehab unit | 69% | 8.4% |
| Rowan Regional Medical Centerrehab unit | 71% | 9.1% |
| New Hanover Regional Medical Centerrehab unit | 69% | 9.0% |
| Forsyth Memorial Hospitalrehab unit | Not reported | Not reported |
| North Carolina Baptist Hospitalrehab unit | 69% | 9.8% |
No hospital matches that filter.
U.S. rates: returned home 67%; preventable readmissions 9.4%.
North Carolina has 1 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 23 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit that reports to Medicare.
Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.
Presbyterian Hospital has the highest returned home rate reported in North Carolina: 76%, against 67% nationally. Rates from small facilities can swing a lot from year to year, and Medicare publishes several measures for each facility, so compare the ones that matter most to you on each hospital's page.
On returned home, CMS rates 5 North Carolina facilities better than the national rate and 1 worse; the rest are no different or have too few patients to compare.
Facility list and results from the CMS Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility Quality Reporting Program, with hospital type from the CMS Provider of Services file. Data published July 2026. About the data.