facebook tracking Rehabilitation Hospitals in Wisconsin: 0 Hospitals and 14 rehabilitation units Compared

Rehabilitation hospitals in Wisconsin

0 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 14 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Compare their Medicare results with the national rate.

Wisconsin has 14 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. St Vincent Hsptl has the highest returned home rate reported in Wisconsin: 71%, against 67% nationally. On the measure "Returned home", Medicare rates 0 better than the national rate and 1 worse.

Switch state
Hospitals0plus 14 rehab units
Returned home67%Wisconsin median; U.S. 67%
Preventable readmissions9.4%Wisconsin median; U.S. 9.4%
Rated better by CMS0on returned home; 1 worse
71%

returned home at St Vincent Hsptl, the highest reported in Wisconsin.

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Every rehabilitation hospital in Wisconsin

Bars show each facility's rate; the black tick is the U.S. rate. "Better" and "worse" appear only where CMS itself compared the facility with the national rate. Click a column to sort.

14 shown
Hospital City Returned home
higher is better
Preventable readmissions
lower is better
Appleton Med Ctrrehab unit Appleton Not reported Not reported
St Elizabeth Hsptlrehab unit Appleton 63% 9.8%
St Agnes Hsptlrehab unit Fond du Lac 64% 9.5%
Aurora Baycare Med Ctrrehab unit Green Bay Not reported Not reported
Bellin Memorial Hsptlrehab unit Green Bay 66% 8.8%
St Vincent Hsptlrehab unit Green Bay 71% 8.5%
Gundersen Luth Med Ctrrehab unit La Crosse 65% 9.2%
Marshfield Medical Centerrehab unit Marshfield 67% 9.3%
Ascension SE Wisconsin Hospitalrehab unit Milwaukee 62% 9.1%
Aurora St Lukes Medical Centerrehab unit Milwaukee 69% 9.6%
Froedtert Mem Lutheran Hsptlrehab unit Milwaukee 60%
Worse
7.7%
Better
Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare- All Saintsrehab unit Racine 68% 10%
Aurora Medical Centerrehab unit Summit 70% 9.8%
Aspirus Wausau Hospitalrehab unit Wausau 67% 9.4%

No hospital matches that filter.

U.S. rates: returned home 67%; preventable readmissions 9.4%.

Questions about inpatient rehabilitation hospitals in Wisconsin

How many inpatient rehabilitation hospitals are there in Wisconsin?

Wisconsin has 0 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 14 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit that reports to Medicare.

What is a rehabilitation hospital?

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Which rehabilitation hospital in Wisconsin has the highest returned home rate?

St Vincent Hsptl has the highest returned home rate reported in Wisconsin: 71%, against 67% nationally. Rates from small facilities can swing a lot from year to year, and Medicare publishes several measures for each facility, so compare the ones that matter most to you on each hospital's page.

Which Wisconsin facilities does Medicare rate better or worse than average?

On returned home, CMS rates 0 Wisconsin facilities better than the national rate and 1 worse; the rest are no different or have too few patients to compare.

Facility list and results from the CMS Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility Quality Reporting Program, with hospital type from the CMS Provider of Services file. Data published July 2026. About the data.