facebook tracking Rehabilitation Hospitals in West Virginia: 4 Hospitals and 5 rehabilitation units Compared

Rehabilitation hospitals in West Virginia

4 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 5 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Compare their Medicare results with the national rate.

West Virginia has 4 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 5 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Charleston Area Medical Center has the highest returned home rate reported in West Virginia: 73%, against 67% nationally. On the measure "Returned home", Medicare rates 4 better than the national rate and 1 worse.

Switch state
Hospitals4plus 5 rehab units
Returned home70%West Virginia median; U.S. 67%
Preventable readmissions11%West Virginia median; U.S. 9.4%
Rated better by CMS4on returned home; 1 worse
73%

returned home at Charleston Area Medical Center, the highest reported in West Virginia.

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Every rehabilitation hospital in West Virginia

Bars show each facility's rate; the black tick is the U.S. rate. "Better" and "worse" appear only where CMS itself compared the facility with the national rate. Click a column to sort.

9 shown
Hospital City Returned home
higher is better
Preventable readmissions
lower is better
Charleston Area Medical Centerrehab unit Charleston 73%
Better
9.7%
Healthsouth Rehab Hospital Huntington 72%
Better
11%
Worse
Logan Regional Medical Centerrehab unit Logan 71% 9.2%
Healthsouth Mountainview Hosp Morgantown 70%
Better
11%
Worse
West Virginia University Hospitalsrehab unit Morgantown Not reported Not reported
Rivers Healthrehab unit Point Pleasant Not reported Not reported
Healthsouth Rehab Hospital Princeton 70%
Better
12%
Worse
Healthsouth Rehab Center Vienna 65% 12%
Worse
Weirton Medical Centerrehab unit Weirton 61%
Worse
9.7%

No hospital matches that filter.

U.S. rates: returned home 67%; preventable readmissions 9.4%.

Questions about inpatient rehabilitation hospitals in West Virginia

How many inpatient rehabilitation hospitals are there in West Virginia?

West Virginia has 4 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 5 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit that reports to Medicare.

What is a rehabilitation hospital?

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Which rehabilitation hospital in West Virginia has the highest returned home rate?

Charleston Area Medical Center has the highest returned home rate reported in West Virginia: 73%, against 67% nationally. Rates from small facilities can swing a lot from year to year, and Medicare publishes several measures for each facility, so compare the ones that matter most to you on each hospital's page.

Which West Virginia facilities does Medicare rate better or worse than average?

On returned home, CMS rates 4 West Virginia facilities better than the national rate and 1 worse; the rest are no different or have too few patients to compare.

Facility list and results from the CMS Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility Quality Reporting Program, with hospital type from the CMS Provider of Services file. Data published July 2026. About the data.