facebook tracking Rehabilitation Hospitals in Arizona: 3 Hospitals and 8 rehabilitation units Compared

Rehabilitation hospitals in Arizona

3 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 8 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Compare their Medicare results with the national rate.

Arizona has 3 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 8 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit. Valley View Medical Center has the highest returned home rate reported in Arizona: 74%, against 67% nationally. On the measure "Returned home", Medicare rates 4 better than the national rate and 0 worse.

Switch state
Hospitals3plus 8 rehab units
Returned home69%Arizona median; U.S. 67%
Preventable readmissions9.6%Arizona median; U.S. 9.4%
Rated better by CMS4on returned home; 0 worse
74%

returned home at Valley View Medical Center, the highest reported in Arizona.

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Every rehabilitation hospital in Arizona

Bars show each facility's rate; the black tick is the U.S. rate. "Better" and "worse" appear only where CMS itself compared the facility with the national rate. Click a column to sort.

11 shown
Hospital City Returned home
higher is better
Preventable readmissions
lower is better
Valley View Medical Centerrehab unit Fort Mohave 74%
Better
9.6%
Healthsouth Rehab Hospital Glendale 70%
Better
9.7%
Kingman Regional Medical Centerrehab unit Kingman Not reported Not reported
Oro Valley Hospitalrehab unit Oro Valley 69% 8.5%
St Joseph's Hospital and Medical Centerrehab unit Phoenix 73%
Better
9.1%
Healthsouth Meridian Point Scottsdale 69% 9.2%
Scottsdale Healthcare-Osborn Medical Centerrehab unit Scottsdale 68% 8.5%
Sierra Vista Regional Health Center INCrehab unit Sierra Vista 69% 9.9%
Carondelet St Marys Hospitalrehab unit Tucson 66% 9.6%
Healthsouth Rehab Institute Tucson 71%
Better
9.7%
Northwest Medical Centerrehab unit Tucson Not reported Not reported

No hospital matches that filter.

U.S. rates: returned home 67%; preventable readmissions 9.4%.

Questions about inpatient rehabilitation hospitals in Arizona

How many inpatient rehabilitation hospitals are there in Arizona?

Arizona has 3 inpatient rehabilitation hospitals, plus 8 general hospitals with an inpatient rehabilitation unit that reports to Medicare.

What is a rehabilitation hospital?

Inpatient rehabilitation hospitals (IRFs) provide intensive therapy after a stroke, brain or spinal cord injury, amputation, major joint replacement or a long hospital stay. Patients generally need to be able to take part in about three hours of physical, occupational or speech therapy a day, five days a week, under a doctor's supervision. Many general hospitals run a rehab unit that Medicare certifies and measures separately, so those are listed too. The key results to compare are how many patients return home and how many end up back in hospital.

Which rehabilitation hospital in Arizona has the highest returned home rate?

Valley View Medical Center has the highest returned home rate reported in Arizona: 74%, against 67% nationally. Rates from small facilities can swing a lot from year to year, and Medicare publishes several measures for each facility, so compare the ones that matter most to you on each hospital's page.

Which Arizona facilities does Medicare rate better or worse than average?

On returned home, CMS rates 4 Arizona facilities better than the national rate and 0 worse; the rest are no different or have too few patients to compare.

Facility list and results from the CMS Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility Quality Reporting Program, with hospital type from the CMS Provider of Services file. Data published July 2026. About the data.